top of page

Focusing on the Good


Donations from Polish citizens line border crossings
Donations from Polish citizens line border crossings

The news has been bad lately; well, for a while now. But there's also so much goodness in people's response to bad news: the neighbors who helped each other during the pandemic, the peacemakers looking to unify our divided nation, and now, the people helping those in Ukraine. I'm sure you've heard about the the helpers lining the Polish borders, people booking airBNB rooms to put money directly in the pockets of Ukrainians, and airbnb itself housing 100,000 refugees. I'm focusing on them. Attempting to be like them. I'm not ignoring the headlines, I'm just trying to look beyond them, at the goodness I know exists. Even with the above stories, there are days when it's especially tough. When I need some inspiration.


Come From Away* is such an inspiration. It's a musical based on the true story of 7,000 people stranded in a small town in Newfoundland after all flights into the US are grounded on September 11, 2001. "Twenty years later, the caring gestures large and small depicted here carry a whole new resonance, a fresh sense of catharsis and even hope," says Christy LeMire of RogerEbert.com. Just thinking about his story helps me focus on the good when headlines are shrieking about the bad. I hope it does the same for you.

Come From Away is only available via Apple TV. You can sign up for a free 7-day trial or pay $4.99 for a month and get to watch the fabulous Ted Lasso, too.

bottom of page