top of page

Cloudy with a Chance of Joy

That's the title of a TED talk that encourages us to slow down and look up.


"You don't have to rush off, away from the familiar,across the world, to be surprised. You just have to step outside to be amazed."


So says Gavin Pretor-Pinney, founder of the Cloud Appreciation in this wonderful TED talk. In his ode to cloud-spotting, Gavin extols the pleasure we can find right now, for free. As he reminds us, the sky is always available, and "the exotic can be found in the everyday."


And he thinks that cloud watching can provide a much-needed break. "The digital world conspires to make us feel perpetually busy," Gavin says. "Cloud spotting is aimless, which is just the point. It legitimizes doing nothing."


I'm taking this idea to heart. When I get the itch to travel without the means or time, I'm going to notice the beauty right above me. When the messages on the screens overfill my head, I'm going to step outside. And always, I'm going to keep looking up.



bottom of page