top of page

In Praise of Small Kindnesses

A few days ago, I was standing in the checkout line at the grocery store when I realized I'd forgotten to buy an item on my list. I must have said something out loud, because the young woman behind me in line said, "What's the matter?"

2 children form a heart with their hands

"I forgot a can of tomatoes," I said.

"Do you want to go get them?"

I looked behind me. This was a true supermarket, with aisles that stretched for miles. There was no sign for canned vegetables in sight, and I'd already unloaded half my groceries onto the conveyor belt. "No," I said. "It'd take too long."

"I'll get them for you," she said. "What kind do you want?"

I gratefully accepted her offer, and when she got back I thanked her again and told her she made my day.

She did. Those little courtesies from strangers always do, a bit of love for your neighbor with nothing expected in return. So today I'd like to give thanks for the other countless kindnesses I regularly encounter:

  • For the people who open doors for me when my hands are full.

  • For drivers who let me into their lane when I turn on my blinker.

  • For those who slow down and stop when they see me waiting by a crosswalk.

  • For those who pull over when the street is too narrow for us both (this happens a lot in Portland).

  • For the neighbors I don't really know but always greet me with a wave and a smile when they see me.

  • For the fellow shoppers who ask my opinion in stores and really seem to value what I say.

  • For the people who let me go ahead of them in line when I only have a few items.

  • For the strangers who compliment me on my style or attitude--or my dog's style or attitude.

  • For the people who rush after me when I leave something behind.

  • For the many things I'll think of adding to this list as soon as I post this blog.




bottom of page