top of page

Something Better, Pushing Right Back

A friend sent me this poem after her mother found it posted on a neighborhood poetry pole (don't you love those?) Here's hoping you bask in your invincible summer.



The sun shines through a crevice in a rocky outcropping

He said,

In the midst of hate,

I found there was, within me,

an invincible love.


In the midst of tears,

I found there was, within me,

an invincible smile.


In the midst of chaos,

I found there was, within me,

an invincible calm.


I realized, through it all,

that in the midst of winter,

I found there was, within me,

an invincible summer.


And that makes me happy

For it says that no matter how hard

the world pushes against me,

within me, there's something stronger,

something better, pushing right back.


- Albert Camus


bottom of page