top of page

View From My Window

Isn't it nice when social media is used for the power of good?

 An arching mimosa tree frames evergreens in the background

View From My Window is a Facebook group that, yes, posts pictures of views from people's windows around the world. But it's so much more. There's a woman who posts pictures from her house in Tuscany, usually with a lovely dish of food in front of the open window and an old Italian recipe to go with it. I've seen a photo of mongooses and a warthog that wandered into a South African home. Photos of gorgeous landscapes and not-so-lovely places that are beautiful in the eyes of those who love them. Photos of dogs and bears and grandmas and a seagull that may be the spirit of a beloved pet. All of it makes me feel a great sense of connection to humans worldwide.


Thanks to Jeanie Whitmire Jackson for recommending the group to me. BTW, that's the view from my back window in Portland, Oregon, above. I haven't posted it in the Facebook group yet because I want to have time to savor group members' comments. (There are always a lot of comments and they are always kind.)

bottom of page